Back To Listing Page

Parker Named ACC Rookie of the Year


By: Duke Sports Information - Photo by Associated Press - March 11, 2014

DURHAM, N.C. -- Duke's Jabari Parker has been named ACC Freshman of the Year by the ACC coaches and Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association (ACSMA), as announced today by the league office. Parker becomes the seventh Duke freshman to earn league FOTY accolades.


Parker, who was named the ACC Rookie of the Week a record-tying 10 times during the regular season, ranks second in the ACC in scoring at 19.2 points per game and 20-point games (16), while leading the conference in rebounds (9.0 rpg.) and double-doubles (14). He has recorded a double-double in six straight games and will take a 15-game double-figure scoring streak into this week’s ACC Tournament.


On the ACSMA ballots, Parker received 72 of a possible 77 votes to join Jim Spanarkel (1976), Mike Gminski (1977), Gene Banks (1978), Chris Duhon (2001), Kyle Singler (2008) and Austin Rivers (2012) as Duke ACC Freshman of the Year honorees.


Parker also finished second in the ACC Player of the Year voting from the ACC coaches and ACSMA. T.J. Warren (NC State) was awarded conference player of the year honors, while Virginia’s Tony Bennett received ACC Coach of the Year honors and Clemson’s K.J. McDaniels was voted the ACC Defensive Player of the Year.


ACC Coaches Award Winners

Player of the Year

T.J. Warren, NC State


Rookie of the Year

Jabari Parker, Duke


Coach of the Year

Tony Bennett, Virginia


Defensive Player of the Year

K.J. McDaniels, Clemson


ACSMA Award Winners

ACC Player of the Year

T.J. Warren, So., NC State (48)

Jabari Parker, Fr., Duke (25)

Marcus Paige, So., North Carolina (2)

C.J. Fair, Sr., Syracuse (1)

K.J. McDaniels, Jr., Clemson (1)


ACC Freshman of the Year 

Jabari Parker, Duke (72)

Tyler Ennis, Syracuse (4)

London Perrantes, Virginia (1)


Coach of the Year 

Tony Bennett, Virginia (68)

Roy Williams, North Carolina (6)

Jamie Dixon, Pitt (1)

Brad Brownell, Clemson (1)

Jim Larrañaga, Miami (1)


Defensive Player of the Year 

K.J. McDaniels, Jr., Clemson (39)

Akil Mitchell, Sr., Virginia (21)

Daniel Miller, Sr., Georgia Tech (5)

Jabari Parker, Fr., Duke (4)

Tyler Ennis, Fr., Syracuse (3)

T.J. Warren, So., NC State (1)

Cameron Wright, Jr., Pitt (1)

Devin Thomas, So., Wake Forest (1)

Justin Anderson, So., Virginia (1)

Marcus Paige, So., North Carolina (1)



Post a Comment